## **GOVERNMENT OF INDIA (Bharat Sarkar)** MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS (Rail Mantralya) (RAILWAY BOARD)

No.2011/TG-I/10/e-ticket ID/Part 1

New Delhi dated 13.12.2011

Chief Commercial Managers, All Zonal Railways.

## (COMMERCIAL CIRCULAR NO. 69 OF 2011)

Sub: Accepting Unique Identification Card "Aadhaar" as one of the prescribed proofs of identity

Ref: a) Board's letter No.2008/TG-I/10/P/e-ticket ID dated 06.08.2010 (Commercial Circular No.36 of 2010)

b) Board's letter No.2010/TG-I/20/P/Tatkal dated 28.01.2011 (Commercial Circular No.05 of 2011)

Vide letters referred to above, the proofs of identity to be accepted for undertaking journey on e-tickets and under Tatkal Scheme were advised to Zonal Railways. A reference has now been received from Unique Identification Authority of India to consider "Aadhaar" as one of the prescribed proofs of identity documents for booking Railway tickets.

- Although "Aadhaar" is covered under the heading 'Photo Identity Card 2. issued by Central/State Government', it has been decided to specifically incorporate and indicate "Aadhaar" as one of the proofs of identity acceptable for undertaking journey on e-tickets as well as under Tatkal Scheme. Hence, the number of proofs of identity to be accepted for undertaking journey on e-tickets as well as under Tatkal Scheme will now become 9(nine) as mentioned below:
  - Voter Photo Identity Card issued by Election Commission of India (i)
  - (ii) **Passport**
  - PAN Card issued by Income Tax Department (iii)
  - Driving Licence issued by RTO (iv)
  - Photo Identity Card issued by Central/State Government (v)
  - Student Identity Card with photograph issued by recognized (vi) School/College for their students
  - Nationalised Bank Passbook with photograph and (vii)
  - Credit Cards issued by Banks with laminated photograph (viii)
  - (ix) Unique Identification Card "Aadhaar"
- Wide publicity may be given through all possible means for information of general public.

3. Necessary instructions may be issued to all concerned.

(V.K. Sharma)
Director Traffic Commercial (G)-II
Railway Board

## Copy to:

- 1) CCM/PMs and CCM/PSs, all Zonal Railways.
- 2) EDV (T), EDFC, DF(C), OSD/TC, F(C) & V (SS) branches of Railway Board.
- 3) MD/IRCTC, Bank of Baroda Building, Parliament Street, New Delhi.
- 4) General Manager/PRS-I, CRIS, Chanakyapuri, New Delhi.
- 5) Director General, Professor/Training & Professor/Commercial Railway Staff College, Vadodara.
- 6) The Principals, Zonal Training Centers, Central Railway/Bhusaval, Eastern Railway Dhanbad, Northern Railway, Chandausi, NE Railway, Muzaffarpur, NF Railway, Alipurduar, Southern Railway, Trichy, SE Railway, Sini, Western Railway, Udaipur.
- 7) General Secretary, National Federation of Indian Railwaymen (NFIR), 3, Chelmsford Road, New Delhi.
- 8) General Secretary, All India Railwaymen Federation (AIRF), 4, State Entry Road, New Delhi.
- 9) Secretary General, Federation of Railway Officers Association (FROA), Room No.256-A, Rail Bhawan, New Delhi.
- 10) Secretary General, Indian Railway Promotee Officers Federation (IRPOF), Room No.268, Rail Bhawan, New Delhi.
- 11) Secretary General, All India RPF Association, Room No.256-D, Rail Bhawan, New Delhi.
- 12) CTM, Metro Railway, Metro Rail Bhavan, 33/1, J L Nehru Road, Kolkata-71.