1. ORGANISATIONAL STRUCTURE OF CRS

The Commission is headed by a **CCRS** (Chief Commissioner of Railway Safety), at **Lucknow**, who acts as the **Principal Technical Advisor** to the Central Government in all matters with which the Commission is concerned. Working under the administrative control of CCRS are **nine CRS** (Commissioners of Railway Safety), exercising jurisdiction over the Zonal Railways. In addition, some of them have additional jurisdiction over railway establishments other than Zonal Railways viz (i)Metro Railway, Kolkata, (ii) DMRC, Delhi, and (iii) Konkan Railway. There are **five Dy.CRS** (Deputy Commissioners of Railway Safety) posted in the Headquarters at Lucknow for assisting the CCRS. In addition, there are **two field Deputy Commissioners**, one each in Mumbai and Kolkata, to assist the Commissioners of Railway Safety in matters concerning the signalling and telecommunication discipline.

2. JURISDICTION

SN	CIRCLE	HEADQURTER	ZONAL RAILWAYS	ROUTE KM (appox)
1	Central	Mumbai	CR & WCR	7587
2	Eastern	Kolkata	ER & ECR	5958
3	Northern	New Delhi	NR	6935
4	North Eastern	Lucknow	NER & NCR	6506
5	North East Frontier	Kolkata	NFR & METRO	3774
6	Southern	Bangalore	SR & SWR	8336
7	South Central	Secunderabad	SCR	5749
8	South Eastern	Kolkata	SER,SECR & ECoR	7651
9	Western	Mumbai	WR & NWR	12076
			TOTAL ROUTE	64572

The route kilometrage of the Railway administrations under the jurisdiction under the jurisdiction of each circle, as on 31st March, 2009 were as under:-